FarmersChoice Reviews

#1 323 Coventry Rd Ottawa, ON K1K 3X6

(613) 513-1234



Write a review

The Gist : They describe FarmersChoice as excellent, glad, fantastic, helpful, impressed, great, unprofessional

  • 118636th visitor ★ Poor 1 out of 5

    FarmersChoice review on 2016-01-29 21:24:48

    I am so glad these morons didnt show up, having read the reviews. Thank you to all the people who posted on this site.


    Comment on 118636th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
    1. 118312th visitor ★ Poor 1 out of 5

      FarmersChoice review on 2016-01-28 11:17:25

      in response to: ...

      I actually feel silly and yet duped. I had 1 of their reps over for a free sample and for some reason I trusted him and bought. Well I got my order last month and I had no idea how much I was buying until I received it. I will be out of my staple items without a doubt in 3 months and still have to pay for 7 mths after Im out. Do your homework and please dont get scammed like I did. BUYER BEWARE! BUYER BEWARE! I cant believe I was dumb enough to buy and not know how much I was getting.


      Comment on 118312th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
      1. 113738th visitor ★ Poor 1 out of 5

        FarmersChoice review on 2016-01-05 18:13:31

        I have ordered two years in a row, almost a third, but this is not a good company. Year one I was told there was no sugar or additives in the meat products. Not true. Certain products do. I had to exchange about half of my order. They also messed up the delivery date, and I wasted a few hours waiting for them. Year two....ordered non sugar/additive meat. Good meat, good taste. Very tough to count what/how much you got. I noticed this both years. Year 2 lasted only 8 months max (also bought from other sources throughout the year for variety). Year 1 lasted 1 year. Year 3, I requested my previous orders and the prices per pound of the meats on the phone. i was told I have to speak in person with a rep. So when the rep showed up, he did not have my previous orders to compare to. He was literally guessing at the prices and had no list. He was pressuring me quite a bit to order again, and on top of that, order a bigger package because my last one didnt last as long as the first year. WTF?????? He was quite upset that I would not order without having my previous orders to compare to. This was another waste of my time. I asked him to please have the company call me. never happened. I called 3 weeks later to set up another appt with a rep to review my previous orders, waited a few hours...no show. I checked some reviews online. I am not alone in disappointment. They called 4 hours later (by accident) asking for a different customer! Before hanging up, I inquired about my meeting. They scheduled the wrong day. I cancelled my meeting and will not be ordering again. This is such an unprofessional, uncaring, non transparent, disorganized company to say the least. If you look into the wording on their website, it is deceitful. Sub-therapeutic???. There are only good reviews posted on their site. There beef is started on grass, then to grains and corn. other reviews mentioned they are graded/rated by their own company, they changed their name after going out of business.....etc overall, unprofessional, overpriced, deceitful. I have had enough.


        Comment on 113738th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
        1. 109657th visitor ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

          FarmersChoice review on 2015-12-16 09:25:27

          Excellent, I'm really impressed with the taste and quality. Next time I'll definitely order more chicken...loved it. Customer service is great too.


          Comment on 109657th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
          1. 109338th visitor ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

            FarmersChoice review on 2015-12-14 22:26:21

            Excellent - we were approached last February about purchasing meat thru Nutrafarms. The quality and taste of what we purchased has proven excellent. So much so, that I just called to add a new order to re-stock with our favourites. And Neil Gordon, our rep was so helpful both at our initial meeting and for the re-order. We are a high protein, low carb family and this has proven a fantastic use of our grocery dollars.


            Comment on 109338th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
            1. 108739th visitor ★ Poor 1 out of 5

              FarmersChoice review on 2015-12-12 10:35:03

              in response to: Well I had someone come to our house to say we can get a free sample . ...

              Glad to have read this review before allowing them to enter my home for the sales pitch.


              Comment on 108739th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
              1. Rondins ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                FarmersChoice review on 2015-11-28 20:14:17

                Excellent business... thanks Jerry...


                Review of FarmersChoice by Rondins on 2015-11-28 20:14:17
                Comment on Rondins's Review of FarmersChoice
                1. 100153rd visitor ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                  FarmersChoice review on 2015-11-24 13:37:37

                  Well I had someone come to our house to say we can get a free sample. So I agree to do that, so the next they called me and said they will drop off a sample. Once the sales man was in my house he wanted us to sign up. I havent even tried the product yet. We also told him right from the start that we have not eaten our super so if we could get the sample and we will get back to him. A hour later he is still pushing us to sign up for 11 months. I wont do business with anyone without checking it out and tasting the product. I told the sales guy he is pushy and I will not sign up without trying it first and I want to try the new york steaks as we love these and we are willing to pay for them too. So he agreed to do this. 11 months is a long time and its a contract, he said it isnt but if I am signing a document then its a contract. I dont like that fact that we have to pay out all this money at once and hope for the best. What if its not good meat? Then will I get a refund, no way. At looking a these reviews its not worth it and I like to get fresh food, not frozen. Thanks to all of you for the reviews they really help.


                  Comment on 100153rd visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
                  1. Glad to have read this review before allowing them to enter ... »more
                2. 99319th visitor ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                  FarmersChoice review on 2015-11-20 14:02:27

                  I read this post fully on the topic of the comparison of most up-to-date and earlier technologies, it's amazing article.


                  Comment on 99319th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
                  1. 97613th visitor ★★★ Good 3 out of 5 / Mobile review

                    FarmersChoice review on 2015-11-13 23:46:04

                    Just ordered, but based on the reviews I am going to review the contract! What I know so far is that someone I know has just received a Danby freezer instead of a Frigidaire as promised. Anyone else? I think Danby is a manual defrost which might account for lack of quality meat as time passes.


                    Comment on 97613th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
                    1. 97314th visitor ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                      FarmersChoice review on 2015-11-12 19:17:16

                      in response to: Absolutely great meat . Always consistent , top - notch quality and service . Weve been with Nutrafarm for 4 ...

                      Excellent This is our third meat order. Im very pleased with quality and the customer service . I dont think I will buy from a grocery store ever again. Flavour of the meat is nothing short of delicious .


                      Comment on 97314th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
                      1. 87256th visitor ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                        FarmersChoice review on 2015-10-07 20:04:14

                        Absolutely great meat. Always consistent, top-notch quality and service. Weve been with Nutrafarm for 4 years now. And we love it. Claire and Andrée


                        Comment on 87256th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
                        1. Excellent This is our third meat order . Im very pleased with ... »more
                      2. 82026th visitor ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                        FarmersChoice review on 2015-09-21 16:02:34

                        Poor - The salesman was very nice, but didn't tell us about doing credit check or I would of stopped it, due to a clean up of stuff that does not belong to me and is still being processed. Of course it was refused and when I was notified I told the manager that the salesman never mentioned anything about a credit check - his reply was "Oh well that's to bad." Not impressed at all !! So now this leaves me wondering how many other things does Nutra Farm forget or not tell you for that matter.


                        Comment on 82026th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
                        1. 80007th visitor ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                          FarmersChoice review on 2015-09-16 17:23:55

                          Would have loved to get a chance to speak with some regarding all this good quality meat everyone is talking about but have only had difficult experience this far. Some came to the door asking if I would like to learn more I said yes I would. Made an appointment for the following day but an hour before they called to reschedule. I rescheduled for this evening and half hour before appointment received a call to let me know they were coming I said great. They asked if my spouse was home I said no he had to work late but because I handle all groceries etc I would be the one to make the choice. I was then told no they wouldnt be able to come due to security reasons. I said oh no need to work my three teenagers ranging from 15 to 18 were home. Then I was told no because it was to be a decision we needed to make as a couple. I said no I will be making the decision, that is how my husband and I deal with groceries in the family. She said that they would only be out if both was home. I should have asked do you not sell to single people? or family were there is only one parent? really this is terrible business practice. The idea of having someone else home is a great idea but the other is just very poor business. I was asked if I wanted to reschedule when my husband was home I said no.


                          Comment on 80007th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
                          1. 73903rd visitor ★★ Fair 2 out of 5 / Mobile review

                            FarmersChoice review on 2015-09-03 22:04:21

                            The is good quality. The chicken breast and tenderloin shrink slightly when cooked. The bacon is way too salty. The chicken wings are not vacuum sealed, nor are the bones. For steak cooks it is impossible to order thickness of cuts and the tenderloin has many random sizes. Not what I had expected there.

                            The overall delivery was on time and sufficient. I was able to take the detailed delivery types and weights of meat and price compare to other organic meat suppliers, ie. Longos VG Organic meats and Costco organic meats and Salmon.

                            I figure for the medium size order you over pay by $1200-$1300. Granted it does come vacuum sealed.

                            Would I order again. No. I just like more control of my cuts, types and sizes. I cannot complain of the taste of the meat (I haven't tried the fish yet) but I will check other suppliers to compare prices.


                            Comment on 73903rd visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
                            1. 56279th visitor ★★★ Good 3 out of 5

                              FarmersChoice review on 2015-07-30 14:09:20

                              The quality of the meat is very good and the fish is excellent but no way to know how much you are paying - they wont give you unit prices which raises a flag. Our order largely ran out in about 5 months when we were led to believe it would last around a year.


                              Comment on 56279th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
                              1. 54898th visitor ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                                FarmersChoice review on 2015-07-27 23:02:17

                                in response to: ...

                                Oops!!!!!!!!!! Just checked BBB web site. This business is NOT accredited.


                                Comment on 54898th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
                                1. You have to check Barrie on . Thats the head office . + A ... »more
                              2. 48980th visitor ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                                FarmersChoice review on 2015-07-17 11:20:11

                                Very, very, very pricy. Simple math: $3055/190lbs = $16/lb. This might look like a good deal for top beef cuts, but consider that in that same package/price you might’ve chosen ground beef, ground pork, liver, and even fruits and vegetables . So, a fraction of your package could be at a reasonable price, but most of it would be several times more expensive than normal prices, and up to 15 times more expensive than, e.g. normally priced apples.
                                Regarding customer service, the rep was very nice even when he called me the following morning having received my cancellation request email, but that didn’t matter much since he promised to reply to my email so that I’d have a proof that he received my cancellation request and of course he didn’t. So, I ended up paying $12 for registered mail that I sent to Home Trust Retail Credit Services, which by the way is the only company name on the Retail Credit Application and Agreement – there’s no Nutrafarms name or address on it at all.
                                Regarding business approach and such, you pay $3-5K without even having a list of what you selected, let alone knowing the weights of the products you paid for. 30 day product swapping policy sounds great, but you can only swap products of similar value (even though you don’t know what is the value of each product), so you won’t be able to, e.g. remove lower cost chicken or pork and replace with higher priced beef.
                                Bottom line: thumbs down based on price and utter lack of transparency.


                                Comment on 48980th visitor's Review of FarmersChoice
                                How would you rate FarmersChoice?
                                Add a photo (Optional)
                                Old Reviews of FarmersChoice
                                The Fine Print: These reviews are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.